Contact Us

Dave Grohl & Others, ‘Sound City – Real to Reel’ — 2013 New Album Preview

Dave Grohl 'Sound City - Real to Reel' New Album Preview 2013 / Simone Joyner, Getty Images

The soundtrack for Dave Grohl‘s ‘Sound City Movie‘ is headed our way in 2013 with an all-star cast which includes Corey Taylor, Josh Homme and Sir Paul McCartney fronting a 3/4 Nirvana reunion.

It seems like every time we see Dave Grohl, we’re saying to ourselves either, “this guy has to just love his life,” or “that is possibly the coolest motherf—er on the planet!” Both statements may be true. The only thing more exciting than Grohl’s upcoming foray into film with ‘Sound City Movie,’ is the fact that, along with producer Butch Vig and an incredible roster of musicians, they’ve created a companion album full of awesome collaborations.

The film is said to do two things — detail the history of the studio (which sounds really cool) and, to quote Dave, examine the question, “What is it that happens when 4 people turn on, plug in, and really play that makes the hair on the back of your neck stand up? What is it about those moments when you hear something and it immediately puts its hooks in you, and you feel…..understood?”

While the roster of musicians appearing in the film is quite large, there was not much confirmed about who will be playing with who on ‘Real to Reel’ until recently. Among the more exciting collaborations are a track with Grohl (who appears on every track) and the Rage Against the Machine/Audioslave rhythm section, the Nirvana-McCartney (listen below) joint and the closing track featuring three of rock’s best frontmen. Here is the tracklisting/individual credits:

  1. ‘Heaven and All’ – Dave Grohl, Peter Hayes and Robert Levon Been
  2. ‘Time Slowing Down’ – Brad Wilk, Chris Goss, Grohl and Tim Commerford
  3. ‘You Can’t Fix This’ – Grohl, Rami Jaffee, Stevie Nicks and Taylor Hawkins
  4. ‘The Man That Never Was’ – Grohl, Nate Mendel, Pat Smear, Rick Springfield and Taylor Hawkins
  5. ‘Your Wife Is Calling’ – Alain Johannes, Dave Grohl, Lee Ving, Pat Smear and Taylor Hawkins
  6. ‘From Can to Can’t’ – Corey Taylor, Grohl, Rick Nielsen and Scott Reeder (Listen Below)
  7. ‘Centipede’ – Johannes, Goss, Grohl and Joshua Homme
  8. ‘A Trick With No Sleeve’ – Johannes, Goss, Grohl and Homme
  9. ‘Cut Me Some Slack’ – Paul McCartney, Grohl, Krist Novoselic and Pat Smear

    Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

  10. ‘Once Upon a Time… The End’ – Grohl, Jessy Greene, Jim Keltner and Jaffee
  11. ‘Mantra’ – Grohl, Homme and Trent Reznor

If that’s not enough to get you excited for the new album, check your pulse. Way back at the beginning of 2012, when very little was known about the project, Dave told us to, “expect some epic jam sessions.” That may go down in history as the biggest understatement of all time. iTunes has the album will listed for a March 12th release, which can now be pre-ordered and comes with an instant download of ‘Cut Me Some Slack.’

Next: Queens of the Stone Age -- 2013 New Album Preview

Subscribe to Banana 101.5 on

Trending on

Recommended for You

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Please solve this simple math problem to prove that you are a real person.

Sign up for Friends With Benefits quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Sign up to have exclusive Friends With Benefits contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.