Contact Us

Mastodon Unleashes ‘Curl Of The Burl’ And ‘Black Tongue’ Videos

Getty Images

Progressive metal outfit Mastodon has been adding a 4th dimension to heavy music for well over a decade now. If the buzz surrounding the band’s upcoming fifth studio album ‘The Hunter’ is any indication, Mastodon will be anything but extinct in 2011.

Mastodon is often called progressive or sludge metal, which is much more efficient than saying they sound like a futuristic Black Sabbath on an acid trip through the galaxy. Either way, the band is about to make a huge splash with ‘The Hunter’, which is due in stores September 26th.

There are some interesting facets of the new album including a special version that will include an interactive element called “augmented reality”, where fans will be able to put their own 3D likeness into the cover art. According to Blabbermouth, the album will be available in a few different editions — the most extravagant of which includes a DVD with a psychedelic visualizer for each song as well as the videos for ‘Deathbound‘ and ‘Black Tongue’.

‘The Hunter’ tracklist

01. Black Tongue
02. Curl Of The Burl
03. Blasteroid
04. Stargasm
05. Octopus Has No Friends
06. All The Heavy Lifting
07. The Hunter
08. Dry Bone Valley
09. Thickening
10. Creature Lives
11. Spectrelight
12. Bedazzled Fingernails
13. The Sparrow
14. The Ruiner (limited-edition bonus track)
15. Deathbound (limited-edition bonus track)

Here are the tripped out videos for ‘Curl of the Burl’ and ‘Black Tongue’

Subscribe to Banana 101.5 on

Subscribe to Banana 101.5 on


Trending on

Recommended for You

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Please solve this simple math problem to prove that you are a real person.

Sign up for Friends With Benefits quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Sign up to have exclusive Friends With Benefits contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.