Michigan State Police Looking For New Recruits [VIDEO]
The Michigan State Police are looking for new state troopers. If you're an individual that meets the requirements, this could be the perfect opportunity you've been waiting for.
Starting salary is pretty solid at approximately $44,000 a year. The max you could make is approximately $66,000 at 20 years of service. Even during training, you can earn money. Recruits receive a bi-weekly salary of approximately $1,700, so not a bad deal at all. For more on salary and benefits, go here.
Obviously, with a job/career like the Michigan State Police, there's going to be a lot of requirements but if you have your crap together, you'll be just fine.
- Applicants must be 18 years of age to take the Entry Level Law Enforcement Exam. A passing score is good for five years.
- Applicants must be a United States Citizen.
- Applicants must be a Michigan resident by recruit school graduation.
- Applicants must have a valid Michigan driver's license by recruit school graduation.
- Applicants must be 21 years of age by recruit school graduation.
- Applicants must have a high school diploma or G.E.D. A college education is not required, though it is recommended.
- Applicants cannot have a felony conviction or be a suspect in a case with the reasonable belief the applicant committed a felony.
- Applicants must meet the Michigan Commission On Law Enforcement Standards minimum hearing requirements as well as the department's Visual Acuity Standards.
- Applicants must show a pattern of fiscal responsibility.
- Applicants must have good moral character.
Driving Record: In the two years prior to the beginning of the selection process for a recruit school, applicants cannot have:
- An assessment of eight or more points
- Three or more moving violations
- Two or more traffic crashes resulting in moving violations or civil infractions
In the four years prior to the beginning of the selection process for a recruit school, applicants cannot have:
- A conviction of driving with a suspended or revoked license
- A conviction of driving while under the influence of alcohol or drugs, including impaired driving
- Two or more convictions of reckless driving
If you think you have what it takes, click here.