MI Cops Will Be Able to Check If You Have Insurance By Running Your License Plate
Driving without insurance -- What was once relatively easy to get away with is about to become a more difficult scam to implement on the streets of Michigan.
Beginning in September, all police will have to do is run a motorist's license plate to determine if they have valid insurance. It is typically not necessary to reveal your insurance to an officer unless you are involved in an accident, yet, this new system will give the cops all the information they need to bust drivers motoring around the state without sufficient coverage.
Unfortunately, insurance companies will only be required to submit policy information to the state twice a month, which could put some drivers in a tight spot when attempting to explain why proof of coverage is not showing up on a cop's computer.
Driving without insurance in the state of Michigan is a misdemeanor with a penalty of up to a year in jail and fines ranging from $200 to $500. Anyone convicted of this offense is also forced to pay a driver responsibility fee of $500 every year for two years.
As you can see, it is much more cost effective to make sure you have insurance before driving...but you have until September until this becomes a major issue.