After a bit of small hibernation following their Sleeping Lions album, Otherwise will be back and quite active this fall with the release of their fifth studio album Defy.

The group just announced that the album will be released Nov. 8 through Mascot Records. The four piece of brothers Adrian and Ryan Patrick, bassist Tony "The Beast" Carboney and drummer Brian Medeiros are also providing fans a little early taste of the album, unveiling two new tracks.

The first song, a track called "Lifted" is a stomp-clap rocker that evolves from acoustic picking into full-sounding anthemic chorus. “It’s about all of the same shit that got me in to trouble, and the label thought it was the best single to lead with,” chuckles Adrian Patrick. “It’s fun. I’ve been the guy the song is about. I’ve lived that life. I’ve been there. It’s real.” You can take a listen to the song and check out the lyric video for the track below.

The second song, "Bad Trip," provides more of an electronic dreamscape through the verses reminiscent of Linkin Park before breaking into full aggression in the chorus. The singer explains, “[It's] an experience where my wife and I had a bad vacation together, but it ended up being a good time. It also serves double duty as commentary on the current nebulous state of affairs we find ourselves mired in a as a nation ... as human beings on this planet. Check out the song along with a series of trippy visuals in the player at the bottom of this post.

“Rock ‘n’ roll was always meant to be dangerous,” Adrian Patrick proclaims. “We grew up in the last era where nineties bands were Soul Rebels. They stood for something. They didn’t conform. Since the greatest risks yield the greatest return, why play it safe? We decided to swing for the fucking fences this time. In between the last album and now, we changed everything. I had two sons, and it took their births for me to go, ‘Fuck it, we’ve got to shoot for the goddamned stars’.”

The 11-song Defy album will arrive on Nov. 8, and pre-orders are currently underway in a variety of formats, with fans being able to choose CD, digital and clear vinyl options at the band's website. Go ahead and make your reservation now. The track listing and artwork for Otherwise's Defy album can be viewed below the videos.

And for those who want to dig a little further into what's to come, the group will be doing a Facebook Live chat tonight (Sept. 5) at 8PM ET via their Facebook page.

Otherwise, "Lifted" Lyric Video

Otherwise, "Bad Trip"

Otherwise, Defy Album Artwork + Track Listing

Mascot Records
Mascot Records

1. Bad Trip
2. Money
3. Crossfire
4. Lifted
5. Picking At Bones
6. Ain't Done Yet
7. Goliath
8. Don't Even
9. Fame and Miss Fortune
10. Unbreakable
11. Goodfight

Best Rock Songs of 2019 ... So Far

More From Banana 101.5