Contact Us

The Mars Volta Unveil Details Of New Album ‘Noctourniquet’

The Mars Volta, Facebook

The Mars Volta have ended speculation as to what their new album is named, what songs are on it, and when it comes out. As for what any of the songs are about, you’re on your own.

The Mars Volta have announced that their new album is called ‘Noctourniquet’ and not ‘In Absentia’ as previously rumored, that is, however, the name of a song that appears on the prog rock duo’s sixth full-length album. We incorrectly assumed the title was simply a combination of ‘Nocturnal’ and ‘Tourniquet,’ but apparently it’s more complicated than that. ‘Noctourniquet’ will tell the story of a character that was inspired by Superman nemesis Solomon Grundy and Hyacinthus — a character in Greek mythology.

The album is being release March 27th which, for those of you keeping score at home, is the date that will also see several other rock releases including albums from Shinedown, The Used, Janus, Hurt, The Veer Union, and 12  Stones.

Vocalist Cendric Bixler-Zavala and guitarist Omar Rodriguez-Lopez will rejoin their pre-Mars Volta band At the Drive-In for their first performance in over a decade at this year’s Coachella Valley Music & Arts Festival in April.

‘Noctourniquet’ Tracklist
01. ‘The Whip Hand’
02. ‘Aegis’
03. ‘Dyslexicon’
04. ‘Empty Vessels Make The Loudest Sound’
05. ‘The Malkin Jewel’
06. ‘Lapochka’
07. ‘In Absentia’
08. ‘Imago’
09. ‘Molochwalker’
10. ‘Trinkets Pale Of Moon’
11. ‘Vedamalady’
12. ‘Noctourniquet’
13. ‘Zed And Two Naughts’

Trending on

Recommended for You

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Please solve this simple math problem to prove that you are a real person.

Sign up for Friends With Benefits quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Sign up to have exclusive Friends With Benefits contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.